Skip to Content

Programs:

Immigration In An Election Year: From Rhetoric to Reality

Washington, D.C. - The failure of Congress and the White House to act on immigration reform last year combined with the fiery election campaigns has opened the door for political attacks on immigration and immigrants. Lost in the rhetoric is a sober analysis of the trends and facts crucial to a constructive debate. What is the real story about the importance of immigration for America's future? Two different stories are being told, and they can be compared with real data.  In a soon-to-be-released report for the IPC, Myers examines trends in U.S. immigration. Among his findings: (1) rates of immigration to the U.S. are slowing down, not speeding up; (2) reliable indicators show immigrants are learning English and advancing socially and economically; and (3) the immigrant population provides important economic benefits to a U.S. society with a large, aging generation of Baby Boomers.  Myers's research covers several key states including:  California, Texas, Florida, New York, New Jersey, Illinois, Georgia, and North Carolina.  

WHAT:           

An on-the-record telephonic briefing with University of Southern California demographer Dowell Myers to discuss his new report: "Thinking Ahead about Immigration Reform:  New Trends and Mutual Benefits in our Aging Society."  This IPC report examines immigration trends and finds that they often contradict the political arguments used against immigrants and immigration.  

WHO:             

  • Professor Dowell Myers, author of Immigrants and Boomers:  Forging a New Social Contract for the Future of America and Professor of Urban Planning and Demography at the University of Southern California.
  • Angela Kelley, Director, Immigration Policy Center, Moderator

WHEN:           

Thursday, January 24, 2008 at 2:30 p.m. ET (Please call in 10 minutes early)

(1:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. MT/11:30 a.m. PT)

LINKS: